Find a Doctor
 
L’AspireAssist®
FDA approved

L’AspireAssist®


01: Une nouvelle approche en matière de perte de poids

L’AspireAssist constitue une nouvelle solution en matière de perte de poids pour les personnes souffrant d’obésité. Contrairement à de nombreuses procédures chirurgicales de perte de poids, celle-ci est très peu invasive et réversible. L’AspireAssist est désormais disponible dans certaines régions d’Europe et dans d’autres pays, et fait l’objet d’essais cliniques aux États-Unis.

Les bénéfices potentiels de l’AspireAssist sont les suivants:

DES RESULTATS SPECTACULAIRES

Un essai clinique aux États-Unis a montré que les patients perdent 21 kg en moyenne au cours de leur première année d’utilisation de l’AspireAssist.

UNE RECUPERATION RAPIDE

L’installation du dispositif s’effectue en ambulatoire. Les patients peuvent souvent rentrer chez eux une à deux heures après l’intervention et reprendre leur activité professionnelle rapidement.  

UNE INTERVENTION SIMPLE

L’intervention dure 20 minutes. Réalisée sous sédation consciente, elle ne nécessite pas d’anesthésie générale.

UN MODE DE VIE NORMAL ET SAIN

L’AspireAssist permet aux patients de manger et de boire tout type d’aliment en quantité normale. Même si avec le temps les patients apprennent à adopter des comportements plus sains grâce aux conseils prodigués, aucun changement brusque de régime alimentaire n’est nécessaire.

UNE INTERVENTION REVERSIBLE

L’AspireAssist peut être retiré à tout moment. Une simple intervention de 15 minutes, réalisée en ambulatoire et sous sédation consciente, suffit.

UN COUT ABORDABLE

Étant donné que l’intervention et le dispositif sont relativement simples, l’AspireAssist constitue une solution abordable pour les patients qui n’ont pas les moyens d’avoir recours à la chirurgie bariatrique.  

02: Le principe de fonctionnement

L’AspireAssist réduit le nombre de calories absorbé par l’organisme. Une fois ingérés, les aliments sont immédiatement dirigés vers l’estomac, où ils sont temporairement stockés. La digestion commence. Dans l’heure qui suit le repas, l’estomac commence à décomposer les aliments, puis les dirige vers les intestins, qui absorbent les calories. L’AspireAssist permet aux patients d’éliminer environ 30 % des aliments dans l’estomac avant l’absorption des calories par l’organisme, ce qui entraîne une perte de poids.

 

L’AspireAssist permet aux patients d’éliminer environ 30 % des aliments dans l’estomac avant l’absorption des calories par l’organisme, ce qui entraîne une perte de poids.

 

LE DISPOSITIF

Le traitement commence par l’implantation dans l’estomac d’un tube spécialement conçu à cet effet. L’A-Tube est un tube fin reliant directement l’intérieur de l’estomac à un Skin-Port discret, de la taille d’un jeton de poker, situé sur la partie extérieure de l’abdomen. Le Skin-Port dispose d’une vanne pouvant être ouverte ou fermée afin de contrôler le flux du contenu gastrique. Le patient vide une partie du contenu de son estomac dans les toilettes après chaque repas via ce tube. Pour cela, il relie le Skin-Port à un petit dispositif portable.

 

Ce processus de vidage s'appelle l'aspiration.

L’ASPIRATION

Le processus d’aspiration s’effectue environ 20 minutes après la fin du repas complet et dure de 5 à 10 minutes. Ce processus est réalisé dans l’intimité des sanitaires, où les aliments sont directement évacués dans les WC. Étant donné que l’aspiration n’élimine qu’un tiers des aliments, l’organisme reçoit le nombre de calories nécessaire à son fonctionnement.

 

Pour une perte de poids optimale, les patients doivent dans un premier temps effectuer une aspiration après chaque repas principal (environ 3 fois par jour). Par la suite, à mesure qu'ils adoptent une alimentation plus saine, ils peuvent réduire la fréquence des aspirations.

LE SOUTIEN

L’AspireAssist est utilisé en combinaison avec un programme de conseils relatifs au mode de vie. Ce programme associe conseils individualisés et réunions de groupe afin d’encourager les patients à manger plus sainement, à réduire leurs rations et à faire davantage d’exercice. Le traitement requiert également une surveillance étroite et globale par un médecin afin de garantir une perte de poids sans effet néfaste pour la santé.

 

Les patients ont également accès à un forum en ligne privé pour discuter des progrès réalisés grâce à l'AspireAssist et bénéficier de soutien et d'encouragements.

03: Une intervention simple

L’implantation de l’A-Tube est une intervention chirurgicale effectuée en 20 minutes, en « ambulatoire ». Les patients peuvent en général rentrer chez eux une à deux heures après l’intervention et reprendre leur activité professionnelle beaucoup plus rapidement qu’après une intervention de chirurgie bariatrique. L’installation de l’A-Tube ne requiert pas d’anesthésie générale. Une sédation consciente suffit, comme, par exemple, pour la plupart des soins dentaires. Cette intervention ressemble beaucoup à une installation de tube GPE classique. Depuis plus de 30 ans, les tubes GPE sont utilisés pour alimenter à long terme les personnes qui ne peuvent pas se nourrir correctement par voie orale.

Comme pour l’installation d’un tube GPE, l’A-Tube est inséré par la bouche à l’aide d’un endoscope. Une petite incision cutanée de 1 cm est nécessaire pour faire passer l’A-Tube de l’estomac vers l’extérieur de l’abdomen.

Une fois que la peau autour de l’A-Tube a cicatrisé (au bout d’environ 10 jours), le médecin fixe le Skin-Port à l’extrémité extérieure du tube. Cette opération dure environ 5 minutes et peut être réalisée dans un cabinet médical. Une fois le Skin-Port installé, le patient peut commencer à effectuer des aspirations et à perdre du poids immédiatement.

Les patients peuvent en général rentrer chez eux une à deux heures après l’intervention et reprendre leur activité professionnelle beaucoup plus rapidement qu’après une intervention de chirurgie bariatrique.

 

04: Les résultats cliniques

Un essai clinique aux États-Unis a montré que les patients perdent 21 kg en moyenne au cours de la première année et 23 kg au bout de deux ans. Les patients qui ont obtenu les meilleurs résultats, c’est-à-dire ceux qui ont effectué des aspirations régulières et adopté un mode de vie plus sain, ont perdu 100 % de leur surpoids grâce à l’AspireAssist et ont maintenu cette perte de poids. Par rapport à d’autres méthodes, l’AspireAssist permet d’obtenir des résultats équivalents sans altération invasive de l’anatomie ou du processus digestif.

 

Source : Sullivan S, Stein R, Jonnalagadda S, Mullady D, Edmundowicz S. Aspiration Therapy Leads to Weight Loss in Obese Subjects: A Pilot Study. Gastroenterology 2013;145:1245–1252.

 

05: Le suivi médical

Choisir AspireAssist, c’est être accompagné dans vos efforts pour perdre du poids ! Votre équipe médicale va surveiller de près votre évolution pour garantir des résultats optimum sans effet néfaste pour votre santé. Elle vous aidera à établir un emploi du temps qui intègre les aspirations et surveillera étroitement les éléments suivants.

 

LA PERTE DE POIDS

La régularité des aspirations et une mastication lente sont des éléments clés pour atteindre vos objectifs de perte de poids. Votre équipe médicale vous aidera à inclure l’AspireAssist dans votre vie quotidienne afin que les aspirations deviennent une activité aussi routinière que le brossage des dents, par exemple.

LES NUTRIMENTS

La réalisation correcte des aspirations ne doit pas provoquer de carences alimentaires, car seulement 30 % des calories sont éliminées (de manière uniforme). L’AspireAssist agit comme si vous réduisiez les rations d’un régime traditionnel : votre corps recevra donc les nutriments essentiels à condition que vos repas soient équilibrés. Les conseils relatifs au mode de vie proposés avec l’AspireAssist vous aideront à adopter une alimentation plus saine. Comme pour toute autre méthode de perte de poids, votre médecin vous recommandera peut-être de prendre des vitamines pour vous maintenir en bonne santé à mesure que vous réduisez votre apport calorique.

LES LIQUIDES ET ÉLECTROLYTES

Les taux d’électrolytes seront régulièrement contrôlés tout au long de l’utilisation de l’AspireAssist afin de garantir qu’ils demeurent normaux. Au cours des essais cliniques, il n’a été démontré aucun déséquilibre au niveau des électrolytes ou déshydratation sévères résultant de l’utilisation de l’AspireAssist. De fait, de nombreux patients boivent davantage au cours des repas lorsqu’ils utilisent l’AspireAssist, car cela facilite l’aspiration.

LES SOINS PRODIGUÉS AU SITE DU SKIN-PORT

Comme pour les tubes GPE traditionnels, vous devez maintenir le site du Skin-Port sur l’abdomen propre et sec. L’équipe médicale vous apprendra à prendre soin du site et vous examinera régulièrement pour vérifier qu’il reste sain. À l’exception de quelques activités telles que la plongée sous-marine, vous pourrez poursuivre une activité physique normale, comme la natation ou le jogging.

06: Les conseils relatifs au mode de vie

Les patients qui adoptent une alimentation saine et font de l’exercice obtiennent des résultats optimum avec l’AspireAssist. Plus tard, grâce à une alimentation plus saine et à une pratique sportive plus assidue, vous pourrez peut-être réduire la fréquence des aspirations à une seule fois par jour, ou moins, voire retirer définitivement le dispositif. Avec l’AspireAssist, des conseils vous seront prodigués pour vous aider à changer de mode de vie, sous forme de sessions individuelles personnalisées et/ou de réunions de groupe avec d’autres patients.

 

Ces conseils vous aideront à aborder certaines causes d’excès alimentaires, y compris les éléments déclencheurs émotionnels et contextuels. Les excès alimentaires sont souvent causés par des facteurs contextuels, tels que le stress ou des événements spécifiques, et non par la faim. À mesure que vous apprendrez à identifier ces déclencheurs, vous serez capable de les éviter et de réduire ainsi la fréquence des excès alimentaires. Vous apprendrez également à consommer des rations adaptées à votre corps et votre niveau d’activité, à manger plus sainement et à inclure l’AspireAssist dans votre emploi du temps quotidien.

Pour vous encourager à respecter la fréquence des aspirations (après chaque repas), le programme vous fournit également des conseils afin d’inclure les aspirations dans vos activités quotidiennes. Enfin, ce programme aide les patients à rester motivés pour maintenir leur perte de poids à long terme. Beaucoup de patients trouvent que l’AspireAssist facilite leur transition vers un mode de vie plus sain, car ils obtiennent des résultats rapidement.

07: Les informations relatives à la sécurité

L’AspireAssist présente un faible risque de complications graves, semblable à celui des tubes GPE. Les tubes GPE sont utilisés depuis plus de 30 ans et l’incidence de problèmes cliniques graves est faible.

Bien que l’AspireAssist présente peu des risques associés aux interventions chirurgicales invasives, certains risques existent, comme pour toute intervention. Lors des essais cliniques, les complications les plus courantes ont été les suivantes : inconfort abdominal et constipation/diarrhée. Les autres risques moins probables sont les suivants : infection, anémie et migration du tube GPE avec enchâssement dans la paroi de l’estomac, qui peuvent en général être résolus par un traitement conservateur ou le remplacement du tube.

Comme pour toute intervention médicale, il est important d’évoquer avec le médecin les risques potentiels et les bénéfices du traitement, afin de déterminer si l’AspireAssist est une solution adaptée à votre cas.

08: Le retrait

L’AspireAssist peut être retiré à tout moment. Une simple intervention de 15 minutes, en ambulatoire, suffit. Cette intervention est semblable à la pose du dispositif et s’effectue sous sédation consciente (sans anesthésie générale). Le site de l’A-Tube se referme en général naturellement par la suite.

 

Même si l'AspireAssist est conçu pour une utilisation à long terme, certains patients (ou médecins) préfèrent retirer l'A-Tube une fois les objectifs de perte de poids atteints ou pour des raisons médicales.

About the AspireAssist

About the AspireAssist


01: A New Approach to Weight Loss

The AspireAssist is a new weight loss solution for people with obesity. Unlike many other weight loss procedures, it’s minimally-invasive and reversible. The AspireAssist is now commercially available in selected regions in Europe and beyond, and is currently in clinical trials across the US.

Potential benefits of the AspireAssist include:

Dramatic Results

In a U.S. Clinical Trial, patients lost an average of 46 pounds (21 kgs) during the first year with the AspireAssist.

Quick Recovery

Placing the device is an outpatient procedure. Patients can often return home within one to two hours, and be back at work quickly. 

Simple Procedure

The quick, 20 minute procedure is performed under conscious sedation – no general anesthesia is required.  

Healthy, Normal Lifestyle

Patients can eat and drink normal amounts and types of food with the AspireAssist. Although patients will learn healthier behaviors over time with lifestyle counseling, no sudden diet changes are required to achieve weight loss. 

Reversible

The AspireAssist can be removed, at any time, through a 15-minute outpatient procedure. It is performed under conscious sedation. 

Affordable

Because the procedure and device are relatively simple, the AspireAssist may be affordable for patients who cannot afford bariatric surgery. 

02: How it Works

The AspireAssist works by reducing the calories absorbed by the body. After eating, food travels to the stomach immediately, where it is temporarily stored and the digestion process begins. Over the first hour after a meal, the stomach begins breaking down the food, and then passes the food on to the intestines, where calories are absorbed. The AspireAssist allows patients to remove about 30% of the food from the stomach before the calories are absorbed into the body, causing weight loss.

 

The AspireAssist allows patients to remove about 30% of the food from the stomach before the calories are absorbed into the body, causing weight loss.

 

The Device

To begin therapy, a specially designed tube is placed in the stomach. The A-Tube is a thin tube that connects the inside of the stomach directly to a discreet, poker-chip sized Skin-Port on the outside of the abdomen. The Skin-Port has a valve that can be opened or closed to control the flow of stomach contents. The patient empties a portion of stomach contents into the toilet after each meal through this tube by connecting a small, handheld device to the Skin-Port.

 

The emptying process is called “aspiration”.

Aspiration

The aspiration process is performed about 20 minutes after the entire meal is consumed and takes 5 to 10 minutes to complete. The process is performed in the privacy of the restroom, and the food is drained directly into the toilet. Because aspiration only removes a third of the food, the body still receives the calories it needs to function. 

 

For optimal weight loss, patients should aspirate after each major meal (about 3 times per day) initially. Over time, as patients learn to eat more healthfully, they can reduce the frequency of aspirations.

Support

This therapy is used in conjunction with lifestyle counseling. This program combines one-on-one counseling and group support meetings to encourage healthier food choices, smaller portion sizes, and increased physical activity. The therapy also requires careful and comprehensive monitoring by a physician to ensure you are losing weight in a healthy manner.

 

AspireAssist patients also have access to a private online community to discuss their progress with the AspireAssist, and receive support and motivation.

03: Simple Procedure

The A-Tube is placed during a 20-minute outpatient procedure. Patients can usually return home within one to two hours, and many return to work very quickly compared to invasive bariatric surgeries. A-Tube installation does not require general anesthesia, and instead is performed under conscious sedation, which is used during many dental procedures. The procedure is very similar to the routine placement of PEG tubes. For the past 30 years, PEG tubes have been used for long-term feeding for people who cannot obtain adequate nutrition orally. 

Like the placement of a PEG tube, the A-Tube is inserted through the mouth by using an endoscope. Only a very small (1-cm) skin incision is needed to pull the A-Tube through the surface of the skin from the stomach. 

After the skin has healed around the tube (about 10 days), the physician will attach a Skin-Port to the end of the A-Tube outside the body. This takes about 5 minutes and can be done in the doctor’s office. Once the Skin-Port is installed, the patient can begin aspirating and losing weight immediately.

Patients can usually return home within one to two hours, and many return to work very quickly compared to invasive bariatric surgeries.

 

04: Clinical Results

In a U.S. clinical trial, patients lost on average 46 pounds (21kgs) in the first year, and 50 pounds (23kgs) by the 2-year mark. The most successful patients – those who aspirate regularly and begin to make healthier choices – have lost 100% of their excess weight with the AspireAssist and have maintained that weight loss. Compared to other approaches, the AspireAssist has similar results without requiring invasive alterations to the anatomy or digestive process.

 

Source: Sullivan S, Stein R, Jonnalagadda S, Mullady D, Edmundowicz S. Aspiration Therapy Leads to Weight Loss in Obese Subjects: A Pilot Study. Gastroenterology 2013;145:1245–1252.

 

05: Medical Monitoring

When you choose the AspireAssist, you are not alone in your weight loss journey! Your medical team will monitor your progress carefully to make your therapy as successful and safe as possible. They will work with you to come up with a schedule to closely watch the following:

 

WEIGHT LOSS

Aspirating regularly and learning to chew well are the most important parts of making this therapy work for you to reach your weight loss goals. Your medical team will help you learn how to fit the AspireAssist into your daily life – so it becomes a part of your routine, just like brushing your teeth.

NUTRIENTS

Because aspiration removes only 30% of your calories (uniformly), it is unlikely to cause nutrient deficits when used properly. Much like reducing portion sizes through a traditional diet, your body will still receive the vital nutrients it needs if you eat well-balanced meals. Lifestyle counseling, which is provided in conjunction with the AspireAssist, will help you improve your food choices. As with many weight loss methods, your physician may recommend that you take a multivitamin with the therapy to keep you healthy as you reduce your caloric intake.

FLUIDS AND ELECTROLYTES

Your electrolyte levels will be monitored regularly while you are using the AspireAssist, to make sure they stay in a normal range. In our clinical trials, there has been no evidence of serious electrolyte imbalances or dehydration as a result of the AspireAssist. In fact, many people find they are drinking more fluids with Aspiration Therapy, as drinking fluids with meals makes aspiration easier.

SKIN-PORT SITE HEALTH

Much like with traditional PEG tubes, the Skin-Port site on the abdomen should be kept clean and dry. Your medical team will help you learn to care for the site, and will check it regularly to ensure that it remains healthy. With the exception of a few activities such as deep-water diving, the AspireAssist will not limit normal physical activities, such as swimming or jogging.

06: Lifestyle Counseling

Patients who make healthy diet and exercise changes will get the most benefit from the AspireAssist. Over time, with healthier food choices and increased physical activity, you may be able to reduce the number of times you aspirate to once a day or less, or have the device removed completely. To help you make these changes, lifestyle counseling is provided with the AspireAssist. Lifestyle counseling may be provided in individualized one-on-one sessions, and/or group sessions with other patients.

 

Lifestyle counseling will help you address some of the causes of overeating, including emotional and situational triggers. Often, overeating is caused by environmental factors such as stress or special events, rather than hunger. As you begin to identity your triggers, you may be able to avoid them so that you don’t overeat as frequently. You will also learn about appropriate portion sizes for your body and activity level, how to make healthier food choices, and how to incorporate the AspireAssist into your dietary routine.

The program also encourages compliance with aspirating after each meal by offering tips to incorporate aspirating into one’s daily routines. Lastly, this program helps patients stay motivated to maintain their weight loss long-term. Many patients find that the AspireAssist makes healthy lifestyle changes easier to make and maintain, because they can see results of their efforts faster.

07: Safety Information

The AspireAssist has a low risk of serious complications, similar to PEG tubes. PEG tubes have been used for over 30 years with a low incidence of serious clinical issues.

Although the AspireAssist does not have many of the risks associated with invasive surgical procedures, there are risks with any procedure. In clinical studies, the most common complications were abdominal discomfort and constipation/diarrhea. Other less likely risks include infection, anemia, and buried bumper syndrome, which can generally be resolved with conservative medical care or tube replacement. 

As with any medical procedure, it is important to discuss with your doctor the potential risks and benefits to help determine if the AspireAssist is right for you. 

08: Removal

The AspireAssist can be removed at any time though a simple 15-minute outpatient procedure. Removal is similar to the placement procedure, and is performed under conscious sedation (general anesthesia is not required). The A-Tube site usually closes naturally on its own afterwards.

 

While the AspireAssist is intended for long-term use, some patients (or their physicians) may wish to remove the A-Tube after weight loss, or for medical reasons.